Food

Unprocessed Challenge

I signed up for the October unprocessed challenge from www.eatingrules.com . For an entire month I will only eat unprocessed. The definition: Unprocessed food is any food that could be made by a person with reasonable skill in a home kitchen with whole-food ingredients.

Going into this, I eat relatively well. I don’t own a microwave and most meals are very clean. In the mornings it’s a kale and fruit smoothie. For lunch: salad, and dinner is pretty delicious (not always healthy but usually from scratch) with a lot of vegetables.

But it’s the sneaky things that I don’t think about that are processed. Here are where my personal challenge will be:
  • Salad dressing… right now I use oil, vinegar, salt and pepper – but at home it’s all bottled (and super caloric – sometimes an issue between G & I)
  • Turkey Bacon – it seems pretty unprocessed, but not entirely – still searching for nitrate-free and other questionable ingredients-free.
  • Chai – I have one a day from Starbucks – no idea what’s in it – this may be my cheat item. Maybe I’ll try weaning myself off slowly.
  • CHOCOLATE! I was so proud of my favorite oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe – thinking it was so unprocessed: oats, whole wheat flour, eggs, sugar, brown sugar, honey, honey, baking soda, baking powder, and chocolate chips. Super easy and all whole foods. Except I forgot 2 ingredients that are obviously processed: white sugar and chocolate. What’s a girl to do? I already use some honey, raw honey, cutting down on the processed sugar requirement. I also use at least 70% cacao chocolate, meaning that there’s a lot less non-chocolate in it than other things. But I love cookies. No -seriously – my love for cookies almost ended a relationship.

I’m hoping to find a sugar alternative, but there is no viable substitute for chocolate.

We’ll see how this goes.
4 thoughts on “Unprocessed Challenge

  1. Pingback: #Unprocessed October Day 1 | obiblogs

  2. Pingback: October #Unprocessed Day 1 | obiblogs

  3. Pingback: October #Unprocessed – Day 2: The Confession | obiblogs

  4. Pingback: #Unprocessed October Day 9: Ouch, falling off the wagon hurts | obiblogs

Leave a Reply

