Unprocessed October – domestic diva!

Wow – I have become quite the domestic diva over the past few weeks. I rarely cook and definitely don’t make much from scratch. Yesterday I made bread! Bread from scratch is not quick. So I was surprised to find this “make bread in 5 minutes” recipe.

Of course, it’s not really in “5 minutes”. I understand they meant 5 minutes of actual work, not the waiting time, but even mixing all the ingredients together took me 10-15 minutes, as it was so much flour and I ended up just using my hands (so I did knead a bit). However, the dough never really got as nice as the one in the photos. Maybe she used regular flour and 100% whole wheat is denser?  Also she used real sugar and I used maple syrup. Whatever, the bread is still delicious – i topped ours off with an egg wash (just some egg and water brushed on top) and that was a good addition. I did get very impatient waiting for the dough to rise tough. Did I mention that I don’t bake?

I made about 6 of these - deliciousness!
I made about 6 of these – deliciousness!

Well this weekend, G and I are going to try again – but he wants to help. Since he actually knows how to cook, I should probably incorporate him more.  We found this video that looks great. We just need about 5 hours… what else were we going to do this weekend?

This morning I woke up and wanted cereal. Problem #1 – what’s in cereal? Problem #2 – we don’t have cereal. Problem #3 – the milk has gone bag. I do have greek yogurt (unsweetened) so why not make some granola?

So I found this granola recipe on eatingrules.com and it seemed simple enough. It’s great because, no matter what you have in your fridge or cabinets you can still make it – it may be a bit boring, but you can add things in later. My granola ended up being 5 ingredients:

1/4 cup of melted butter

2 cups of oats

a few sprinkles of nutmeg and

2 heaping spoonfuls of cinnamon (I love my spices)

and 1 1/2 spoonfuls of honey (just to make sure there was enough to go around, I kind of just guessed)

Then I mixed my butter, oats, and spices together, threw it on a parchment paper lined baking sheet and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes.

gorgeous baked oats
gorgeous baked oats

Once it was done, I sprinkled on some honey, probably not as much as the recipe called for, but I added more sweetener in later, to the greek yogurt; some maple syrup.

I threw some granola on top of the yogurt, added my sweeteners and some frozen mango. YUMMM!

It was so good, I didn’t even have a chance to take a photo before gobbling it up! So maybe not as prim and proper as the other domestic divas, but where’s the fun in that?

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

